It's imperative to follow safe driving practices when you're behind the wheel of a vehicle, as failure to do so could have grave consequences. If you're involved in a car accident and another individual dies as a result of your actions, you could be charged with vehicular homicide, a crime that is accompanied by serious penalties.
According to Colorado law, this is the official definition of vehicular homicide:
"If a person operates or drives a motor vehicle in a reckless manner, and such conduct is the proximate cause of the death of another" or "if a person operates or drives a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or one or more drugs, or a combination of both alcohol and one or more drugs, and such conduct is the proximate cause of the death of another."
Vehicular homicide due to recklessness is a class 4 felony, which is typically
punishable by the following:
• A fine ranging from $2,000 to $500,000
• Two to six years in prison
• Three years of mandatory parole.
Vehicular homicide involving DUI or DWAI is a class 3 felony, which is
typically punishable by the following:
• A fine ranging from $3,000 to $750,000
• Four to 12 years in prison
• Five years of mandatory parole.
In the event that you're charged with vehicular homicide in the state of Colorado, it's in your best interest to contact a law firm in Denver as soon as possible for expert legal representation. At The Orr Law Firm, our attorneys will passionately defend you in court and help you move forward with your life.