Denver Reckless Driving Lawyer
Charged with Reckless Driving in Colorado? We Can Help.
In Colorado and the rest of the nation, licensed drivers are obligated to uphold the rules and regulations of the road, as well as practice safe driving techniques. However, many people continue to drive in a manner which disregards the safety of others, which is why reckless driving is associated with severe penalties.
Common examples of reckless driving include:
- Driving faster than the posted speed limit
- Endangering others by running a red light or stop sign
- Intentionally failing to yield the right-of-way to a pedestrian in a crosswalk or intersection
- Driving while you are under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs
- Racing other vehicles through city streets
- Attempting to evade an officer trying to pull you over
- Passing a school bus while it is stopped
- Texting or using electronic devices while driving
If you were recently charged with a traffic offense, the Orr Law Firm is ready to fight for you. With decades of experience, our reckless driving attorneys in Denver understand how to protect your rights and guide you through the judicial process. Contact our firm today to discuss your options in a free, no-obligation consultation.
Penalties for Reckless Driving in Colorado
Under Colorado Statute Title 42, Article 4, Part 14, a reckless driver is defined as "a person who drives a motor vehicle, bicycle, electrical assisted bicycle or low-power scooter in such a manner as to indicate either a wanton or a willful disregard for the safety of persons or property." This offense is a Class 2 traffic misdemeanor.
A first offense is punishable by a maximum jail sentence of 90 days and fines of up to $300. Second or subsequent convictions will be met with fines of $50 to $1,000 and imprisonment for 10 days to six months. Furthermore, consequences can also include 8 points on your Colorado DMV driving record, community service, and restitution payment to the alleged victim in the event the offense resulted in the injury or death of another person.
Since it is counted as a habitual traffic offender strike, these seemingly minor infractions could have a larger influence on your sentencing. For instance, those who are given this classification by the courts could lose their license for as long as five years. If you've been charged with reckless driving and are worried a conviction would put you one step closer to being hit with habitual offender penalties, contact The Orr Law Firm.
Can I Go to Traffic School for a Reckless Driving Ticket?
Whether you can attend traffic school for your reckless driving offense will depend on your driving record and the details of your case. Most people want to attend traffic school because it allows them to offset points from their driving record and possibly lower their insurance premiums. In Colorado, some reckless driving charges will not qualify for traffic school, while others make it a mandatory requirement of the sentence.
You may be able to attend traffic school if:
Call Us at (303) 747-4247 for the Help You Need
Whether you were running late to work or rushing to the hospital, reckless driving can have a substantial impact on your driving record and finances. Our Denver reckless driving lawyers at the Orr Law Firm can thoroughly review your case and determine all of your available legal options to obtain desirable results.
Facing a reckless driving charge? Call now to request your free consultation.