Free Consultation

Colorado Code of Criminal Penalties

Colorado Code of Criminal Penalties

Felonies § 18-1.3-401

Presumptive Range of Penalties

Class Minimum Maximum Mandatory Parole Period
1 Life Imprisonment Death None
2 8 years
$5,000 fine
24 years
$1,000,000 fine
5 Years
3

Extraordinary Risk Crime

4 years
$3,000 fine
12 years
$750,000 fine
5 Years
4 years
$3,000 fine
16 years
$750,000 fine
5 Years
4

Extraordinary Risk Crime

2 years
$2,000 fine
6 years
$500,000 fine
3 Years
2 years
$2,000 fine
8 years
$500,000 fine
3 Years
5

Extraordinary Risk Crime

1 year
$1,000 fine
3 years|
$100,000 fine
2 Years
1 year
$1,000 fine
4 years
$100,000 fine
2 Years
6

Extraordinary Risk Crime

1 year
$1000 fine
18 months
$100,000 fine
1 Year
1 year
$1000 fine
2 years
$100,000 fine
1 Year

NOTE: Certain crimes are considered to be more dangerous or harmful for society and public safety, which means the penalties are elevated.

  • Felony crimes that fall into this category include the following offenses:
  • Aggravated robbery
  • Child abuse,
  • Unlawful distribution, manufacturing, sale, or possession of a controlled substance
  • Any crime of violence
  • Stalking
  • Sale or distribution of materials to manufacture controlled substances
  • Felony invasion of privacy for sexual gratification

Misdemeanors §18-1.3-501

Presumptive Range of Penalties

Class Minimum Maximum
1

Extraordinary Risk Crime

6 Months
$500 Fine
18 Months
$5,000 Fine
6 Months
$500 Fine
24 Months
$5,000 Fine
2 3 Months
$250 Fine
12 Months
$1,000 Fine
3 $500 fine

6 Months
$750 Fine

NOTE: Certain crimes are considered to be more dangerous or harmful for society and public safety, which means the penalties are elevated.

The criminal offenses that fall into this category include:

  • Assault in the 3rd degree
  • Sexual Assault
  • Sexual Assault in the 2nd degree
  • Unlawful sexual contact
  • Sexual Assault in the 3rd degree
  • Child Abuse
  • Second or subsequent violation of a protective order
  • Misdemeanor failure to register as a sex offender
  • Misdemeanor invasion of privacy for sexual gratification

If convicted of assault in the 3rd degree and the individual is a peace officer, emergency service provider, emergency medical care provider, or firefighter engaged performing official duties, maximum prison term is doubled. If convicted of assault in the 3rd degree or reckless endangerment and the victim is a mental health professional employed by the Department of Human Services performing official duties, maximum term of imprisonment doubled.

Misdemeanor Traffic Offenses §42-4-1701

Presumptive Range of Penalties

Class Minimum Maximum
1 10 days
$300 fine
1 year
$1,000 fine
2 10 days
$150 fine
90 days
$300 fine

Traffic Infractions §42-4-1701

Presumptive Range of Penalties

Class Minimum Maximum
1 $15 fine $100 fine
2 $15 fine $100 fine

Have further questions? Call our Denver criminal defense lawyers at The Orr Law Firm today to discuss your case.