Vehicular Assault Lawyer in Denver
Definition of Vehicular Assault - § 18-3-205 C.R.S.
According to state law, you are responsible for ensuring the safety of yourself and everyone else on the road when you make the choice to get behind the wheel — whether they are pedestrians, other drivers, or passengers in your vehicle. If you get into an accident and someone else is injured as a result of your actions, you risk being charged with the crime of vehicular assault, which is accompanied by harsh penalties in the state of Colorado.
Under § 18-3-205 of the Colorado Revised Statutes, vehicular assault is defined as follows:
A person commits vehicular assault if they operate a motor vehicle in a reckless manner, and this conduct is the proximate cause of serious bodily injury to another, or if they operate or drive a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or one or more drugs, or a combination of both alcohol and one or more drugs, and this conduct is the proximate cause of a serious bodily injury to another.
It is important to note that the injured party can be a passenger in your own vehicle, and the District Attorney can move forward with a vehicular assault charge even if the victim does not want to press charges.
Penalties for Vehicular Assault in Colorado
Vehicular assault is a felony in Colorado. Depending on the extent of the injuries suffered by the victim, you could be facing anywhere from one to 12 years in prison, along with substantial fines and restitution costs.
Vehicular assault due to recklessness is a class 5 felony, which is typically punishable by the following penalties:
- A fine ranging from $1,000 to $100,000
- One to three years in prison
- Two years of mandatory parole
Vehicular assault involving DUI or DWAI is a class 4 felony, which is typically punishable by the following penalties:
- A fine ranging from $2,000 to $500,000
- Two to six years in prison
- Three years of mandatory parole
Anytime someone is seriously injured in an accident and it is determined that you were negligent, you can be charged with vehicular assault. Even a first offense carries a prison sentence. If you were under the influence of drugs or alcohol at the time of the accident, the District Attorney will likely seek the maximum sentence.
It is imperative that you seek counsel from a vehicular assault attorney in Denver who has experience handling these cases. You want the best representation you can afford, and hiring a lawyer who has dedicated their focus to defending DUI offenses and serious criminal traffic cases is where you should seek representation.
Charged with Vehicular Assault in Denver, CO?
If you have been charged with vehicular assault in Denver, or anywhere else in the state of Colorado, you owe it to yourself to find the best defense lawyers available. At the Orr Law Firm, we passionately defend our clients in these types of cases and represent their best interests in order to achieve a favorable outcome.
Call the Orr Law Firm today at (303) 747-4247 for a FREE phone consultation.