Driving Without Insurance in Colorado
Accused of Driving Without Insurance in Denver?
In most states, it is illegal to drive a car or other vehicle without a valid driver’s license or insurance. In Colorado, driving without insurance can lead to some pretty severe penalties – which are in place to ensure you don’t repeat the same traffic offense. Part of the reason the state comes down so harshly on driving without insurance is that, in an accident, the state will have to cover your injuries, particularly if you lack health insurance as well.
At the Orr Law Firm, we can evaluate your case and see how to get you the best possible outcome. Our team can meticulously investigate the charges against you and work to uphold your rights throughout the entire process. Tell us about your case today by contacting us at (303) 747-4247 for a FREE consultation.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Colorado
Depending on the conviction, you could be looking at a fine of anywhere from $500 to $1,000. Additionally, for a second, third, or subsequent offense, you could face anywhere from 10 days to 1 year in jail.
Likewise, the judge could issue the following punishments:
- Community service up to 40 hours
- Driver’s license suspension for up to 8 months
- 4 points on your driving record
- $40 fee and file SR-22 certificate for 3 years
Call Now for Your Free Consultation: (303) 747-4247
If you had insurance at the time you were pulled over, but you were cited for lack of insurance, you could provide the court with a complying policy or certificate of insurance that was fully in place, as required by law, at the time of the citation. Having an attorney by your side during this process can make your case go significantly smoother. Orr Law Firm is dedicated to ensuring everyone has fair representation, so don't wait to give us a call.
Get started on your defense by calling Orr Law Firm at (303) 747-4247 to schedule a FREE consultation. We are located in Denver, but we serve the entire state.