COLORADO LAWYERS
Free Consultation (303) 818-2448
Driver's License Reinstatement

Driver’s License Reinstatement

If at any time your license is revoked for an alcohol offense, you will need to go through the process known as reinstatement to obtain a valid driver's license after the period of mandatory revocation is over.

Below is the process and requirements for reinstating your driving privileges as a resident of Colorado. If you have further questions about driver's license reinstatement, you should contact The Orr Law Firm.

Our Denver DUI lawyers can help you obtain reinstatement of your license. Want to learn more? Contact us today at (303) 818-2448.

Excess B.A.C. Driving Offenses, Effective January 1, 2014

1st Offense Excess BAC .080 - .149

Your first episode of driving with a B.A.C. of 0.08 - .149 results in a 9-month revocation. The driver is eligible for early reinstatement after completing one (1) month of the revocation. They then are eligible for a restricted license with interlock for the time remaining on the total restraint (8 months).

For example, the following apply:

  • The revocation remains in effect until you complete the reinstatement process.
  • ALL reinstatements are processed by mail. You should begin the reinstatement process approximately 3-4 weeks before you expect to reinstate.
  • If you were 21 or older at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident, and have no other unsatisfied license restraints, you may reinstate early after serving only 1 month of the revocation period, provided you install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in every vehicle you own or will drive and meet all other reinstatement requirements.
  • If your B.A.C. was below 0.15, you reinstate early, drive only an Interlock vehicle and do not have any failed BACs (≥ .025), you may be eligible for an unrestricted license after 4 consecutive months of successful Interlock driving. For more information on how to qualify for early removal after 4 months, click here.

Reinstatement (9-Month Revocation)

If you choose not to reinstate early with Interlock, the following is required for full reinstatement:

1. Provide an SR22 Certificate from your insurance company and maintain it for 9 months following reinstatement (3 years if you were involved in an accident).

2. Complete an Alcohol Certification, Form DR2598.

3. Complete an Application for Reinstatement, DR2870.

4. Mail the SR22 Certificate, the Alcohol Certification and the Application for Reinstatement along with your personal check or money order for $95.00 to the address provided on the Application for Reinstatement.

VOLUNTARY INTERLOCK EARLY REINSTATEMENT:(1-month revocation plus 8-month Interlock requirement): In addition to items 1-4, you must maintain the SR22 Certificate for the period in which you hold a restricted license unless you were involved in an accident, as accidents mandate a three (3) year SR22 requirement, and:

5. Have an Interlock installed in every vehicle you either own or may drive (call any provider for appointment - however, Smart Start is the best Ignition Interlock Provider and has better technology and better service than the other providers).

  • Include the notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit, DR2058.
  • Include a signed copy of each interlock lease agreement and of each installation certificate.

While your privilege to drive is Interlock restricted:

  • Your Interlock restriction may be extended if you in 3 or more reporting periods in any 12 month consecutive period register a BAC (≥ .025)
  • Your privilege to drive will be revoked for at least 1 year or the remaining period of restriction, whichever is longer, if even once you drive a non-equipped vehicle or try to circumvent or bypass the Interlock under any circumstances.

1st Offense Excess BAC ≥ .150

REVOCATION: Your first episode of driving with a B.A.C. of ≥ .150 results in a 9-month revocation. The driver is eligible for early reinstatement after completing one (1) month1 of the revocation. They then are eligible for a restricted license with interlock for the time remaining on the total restraint or two (2) years, whichever is longer.

  • The revocation remains in effect until you complete the reinstatement process.
  • ALL reinstatements are processed by mail. You should begin the reinstatement process approximately 3-4 weeks before you expect to reinstate.
  • If you were 21 or older at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident, and have no other unsatisfied license restraints, you may reinstate early after serving only one (1) month of the revocation period, provided you install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in every vehicle you own or will drive and meet all other reinstatement requirements

Reinstatement (9-Month Revocation)

You qualify to reinstate early after serving 1 month of the revocation period. The reinstatement requirements for regular or early reinstatement are exactly the same in this scenario, so you should take advantage of early reinstatement.

To reinstate, the following is required:

1. Provide an SR22 Certificate from your insurance company and maintain it for two years or the period in which you hold a restricted license; whichever is longer (three years if you were involved in an accident).

2. Enroll in Level II Alcohol Education and Therapy;

  • Include the Affidavit of Enrollment, DR 2643 or have your Level II provider fax a DRS Form directly to the DMV.

3. Complete an Application for Reinstatement, DR2870.

4. Have an interlock installed in every vehicle you either own or may drive (call any provider for appointment - however, Smart Start is the best Ignition Interlock Provider and has better technology and better service than the other providers). You will be required to have Interlock for no less than two years.

  • Include the notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit, DR2058;
  • Include a signed copy of each interlock lease agreement and of each installation certificate.

5. Mail the SR22 Certificate, the Affidavit of Enrollment, Notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit (with a signed copy of the lease agreement and installation certificate) the Application for Reinstatement along with your personal check or money order for $95.00 to the address provided on the Application for Reinstatement.

  • While your privilege to drive is interlock restricted:
  • Your Interlock restriction may be extended if you in 3 or more reporting periods in any 12 month consecutive period register a BAC (≥ .025)
  • Your privilege to drive will be revoked for at least 1 year or the remaining period of restriction, whichever is longer, if even once you drive a non-equipped vehicle or try to circumvent or bypass the Interlock under any circumstances.

1st offense Refusal

Revocation

When a driver refuses a chemical test for drugs or alcohol for a first offense, the period of revocation is for 1 year. The driver is eligible for early reinstatement after completing two months of the revocation.

  • They then are eligible for a restricted license with interlock for the time remaining on the total restraint or two years, whichever is longer.
  • The revocation remains in effect until you complete the reinstatement process.
  • ALL reinstatements are processed by mail. You should begin the reinstatement process approximately 3-4 weeks before you expect to reinstate.
  • If you were 21 or older at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident, and have no other unsatisfied license restraints, you may reinstate early after serving only two (2) months of the revocation period, provided you install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in every vehicle you own or will drive and meet all other reinstatement requirements

Reinstatement (1-Year Revocation)

You qualify to reinstate early after serving two (2) months of the revocation period. The reinstatement requirements for regular or early reinstatement are exactly the same in this scenario, so you should take advantage of early reinstatement. To reinstate, the following is required:

1. Provide an SR22 Certificate from your insurance company and maintain it for two (2) years or the period in which you hold a restricted license; whichever is longer (three (3) years if you were involved in an accident).

2. Enroll in Level II Alcohol Education and Therapy;

  • Include the Affidavit of Enrollment, DR 2643 or have your Level II provider fax a DRS Form directly to the DMV.

3. Complete an Application for Reinstatement, DR2870.

4. Have an Interlock installed in every vehicle you either own or may drive (call any provider for appointment - however, Smart Start is the best Ignition Interlock Provider and has better technology and better service than the other providers). You will be required to have Interlock for no less than two (2) years.

  • Include the notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit, DR2058;
  • Include a signed copy of each interlock lease agreement and of each installation certificate.

5. Mail the SR22 Certificate, the Affidavit of Enrollment, Notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit (with a signed copy of the lease agreement and installation certificate) the Application for Reinstatement along with your personal check or money order for $95.00 to the address provided on the Application for Reinstatement.

Testing

A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and driving test.

You will need to take the eye and written exam first and then upon passing those exams you can take the road exam. Please send in all your paperwork for reinstatement first, as the exams must be the final step you take in the reinstatement process.

Our recommendation is that you go online immediately to schedule your exams as this will help alleviate the problem of getting your exams completed on time. The eye and written exams do not need to be scheduled in advance, but the road exam does. Most clients schedule their eye and written tests first and then the road exam for a couple of hours later.

Unless you choose to take your exams with a private driving school, this is the most practical way of completing the exams for most clients. You cannot take your exams until on or after your eligibility date. You must provide your own vehicle to take the road exam at the DMV and that vehicle must be equipped with ignition interlock at the time of the road exam. You can schedule your exams by going to this website: Schedule your Exams.

Again, you are required to have all of your reinstatement paperwork submitted before the DMV will allow you to take your exams. Please send in your reinstatement paperwork immediately so that you are allowed to take your exams on the date and time scheduled.

2nd Offense Excess BAC ≥ .080

Revocation

When a driver is convicted of a 2nd excess BAC offense in a lifetime, a one (1) year revocation is imposed for a second offense. The driver is eligible for early reinstatement after completing one (1) month of the revocation. They then are eligible for a restricted license with interlock for the time remaining on the total restraint or two (2) years, whichever is longer.

  • The revocation remains in effect until you complete the reinstatement process.
  • ALL reinstatements are processed by mail. You should begin the reinstatement process approximately 3-4 weeks before you expect to reinstate.
  • If you were 21 or older at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident, and have no other unsatisfied license restraints, you may reinstate early after serving only one (1) month of the revocation period, provided you install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in every vehicle you own or will drive and meet all other reinstatement requirements

Reinstatement (1-Year Revocation)

You qualify to reinstate early after serving one (1) month of the revocation period. The reinstatement requirements for regular or early reinstatement are exactly the same in this scenario, so you should take advantage of early reinstatement. To reinstate, the following is required:

1. Provide an SR22 Certificate from your insurance company and maintain it for three (3) years or the period in which you hold a restricted license; whichever is longer.

2. Enroll in Level II Alcohol Education and Therapy;

  • Include the Affidavit of Enrollment, DR 2643 or have your Level II provider fax a DRS Form directly to the DMV.

3. Complete an Application for Reinstatement, DR2870.

4. Have an Interlock installed in every vehicle you either own or may drive (call any provider for appointment - however, Smart Start is the best Ignition Interlock Provider and has better technology and better service than the other providers). You will be required to have Interlock for no less than two (2) years.

  • Include the notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit, DR2058;
  • Include a signed copy of each interlock lease agreement and of each installation certificate.

5. Mail the SR22 Certificate, the Affidavit of Enrollment, Notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit (with a signed copy of the lease agreement and installation certificate) the Application for Reinstatement along with your personal check or money order for $95.00 to the address provided on the Application for Reinstatement.

2nd Refusal

REVOCATION: When a driver refuses a chemical test for drugs or alcohol for a second offense, the period of revocation is for two (2) years. The driver is eligible for early reinstatement after completing two (2) months of the revocation. They then are eligible for a restricted license with interlock for the time remaining on the total restraint or two (2) years, whichever is longer.

  • The revocation remains in effect until you complete the reinstatement process.
  • ALL reinstatements are processed by mail. You should begin the reinstatement process approximately 3-4 weeks before you expect to reinstate.
  • If you were 21 or older at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident, and have no other unsatisfied license restraints, you may reinstate early after serving only two (2) months of the revocation period, provided you install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in every vehicle you own or will drive and meet all other reinstatement requirements

REINSTATEMENT (2-year revocation): You qualify to reinstate early after serving two (2) months of the revocation period. The reinstatement requirements for regular or early reinstatement are exactly the same in this scenario, so you should take advantage of early reinstatement. To reinstate, the following is required:

1. Provide an SR22 Certificate from your insurance company and maintain it for three (3) years or the period in which you hold a restricted license; whichever is longer.

2. Enroll in Level II Alcohol Education and Therapy;

  • Include the Affidavit of Enrollment, DR 2643 or have your Level II provider fax a DRS Form directly to the DMV.

3. Complete an Application for Reinstatement, DR2870.

4. Have an Interlock installed in every vehicle you either own or may drive (call any provider for appointment - however, Smart Start is the best Ignition Interlock Provider and has better technology and better service than the other providers). You will be required to have Interlock for no less than two (2) years.

  • Include the notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit, DR2058;
  • Include a signed copy of each interlock lease agreement and of each installation certificate.

5. Mail the SR22 Certificate, the Affidavit of Enrollment, Notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit (with a signed copy of the lease agreement and installation certificate) the Application for Reinstatement along with your personal check or money order for $95.00 to the address provided on the Application for Reinstatement.

3rd or Subsequent Offense Excess BAC ≥ .080

REVOCATION: When a driver is convicted of a 3rd excess BAC offense in a lifetime, a two (2) year revocation is imposed for a third offense.

  • The revocation remains in effect until you complete the reinstatement process.
  • ALL reinstatements are processed by mail. You should begin the reinstatement process approximately 3-4 weeks before you expect to reinstate.
  • If you were 21 or older at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident, and have no other unsatisfied license restraints, you may reinstate early after serving only one (1) month of the revocation period, provided you install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in every vehicle you own or will drive and meet all other reinstatement requirements

REINSTATEMENT (1-year revocation): You qualify to reinstate early after serving one (1) month of the revocation period. The reinstatement requirements for regular or early reinstatement are exactly the same in this scenario, so you should take advantage of early reinstatement. To reinstate, the following is required:

1. Provide an SR22 Certificate from your insurance company and maintain it for three (3) years or the period in which you hold a restricted license; whichever is longer.

2. Enroll in Level II Alcohol Education and Therapy;

  • Include the Affidavit of Enrollment, DR 2643 or have your Level II provider fax a DRS Form directly to the DMV.

3. Complete an Application for Reinstatement, DR2870.

4. Have an Interlock installed in every vehicle you either own or may drive (call any provider for appointment - however, Smart Start is the best Ignition Interlock Provider and has better technology and better service than the other providers). You will be required to have Interlock for no less than two years.

  • Include the notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit, DR2058;
  • Include a signed copy of each interlock lease agreement and of each installation certificate.

5. Mail the SR22 Certificate, the Affidavit of Enrollment, Notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit (with a signed copy of the lease agreement and installation certificate) the Application for Reinstatement along with your personal check or money order for $95.00 to the address provided on the Application for Reinstatement.

3rd or subsequent Refusal

Revocation

When a driver refuses a chemical test for drugs or alcohol for a third or subsequent offense, the period of revocation is for three (3) years. The driver is eligible for early reinstatement after completing two (2) months of the revocation. They then are eligible for a restricted license with interlock for the time remaining on the total restraint or two (2) years, whichever is longer.

  • The revocation remains in effect until you complete the reinstatement process.
  • ALL reinstatements are processed by mail. You should begin the reinstatement process approximately 3-4 weeks before you expect to reinstate.
  • If you were 21 or older at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident, and have no other unsatisfied license restraints, you may reinstate early after serving only two (2) months of the revocation period, provided you install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in every vehicle you own or will drive and meet all other reinstatement requirements

Reinstatement (3-year revocation):

You qualify to reinstate early after serving two (2) months of the revocation period. You should take advantage of early reinstatement in this scenario as you would otherwise be required to serve a three year revocation followed by two years of interlock. Instead, you can reinstate early after only two months and then only be required to have interlock for the remaining period of restriction which is 2 years and 1o months. To reinstate, the following is required:

1. Provide an SR22 Certificate from your insurance company and maintain it for three (3) years or the period in which you hold a restricted license; whichever is longer.

2. Enroll in Level II Alcohol Education and Therapy;

  • Include the Affidavit of Enrollment, DR 2643 or have your Level II provider fax a DRS Form directly to the DMV.

3. Complete an Application for Reinstatement, DR2870.

4. Have an Interlock installed in every vehicle you either own or may drive (call any provider for appointment - however, Smart Start is the best Ignition Interlock Provider and has better technology and better service than the other providers). You will be required to have Interlock for no less than two (2) years.

  • Include the notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit, DR2058;
  • Include a signed copy of each interlock lease agreement and of each installation certificate.

5. Mail the SR22 Certificate, the Affidavit of Enrollment, Notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit (with a signed copy of the lease agreement and installation certificate) the Application for Reinstatement along with your personal check or money order for $95.00 to the address provided on the Application for Reinstatement.

I have been criminally convicted twice of alcohol offenses within a 5 year period

REVOCATION: This restraint is taken when a driver receives two alcohol violations within a 5 year period. The revocation is ordered for a period of one year. The driver is eligible for early reinstatement after completing one (1) month of the revocation. They then are eligible for a restricted license with interlock for the time remaining on the total restraint or two (2) years, whichever is longer.

  • The revocation remains in effect until you complete the reinstatement process.
  • ALL reinstatements are processed by mail. You should begin the reinstatement process approximately 3-4 weeks before you expect to reinstate.
  • If you were 21 or older at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident, and have no other unsatisfied license restraints, you may reinstate early after serving only one (1) month of the revocation period, provided you install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in every vehicle you own or will drive and meet all other reinstatement requirements

REINSTATEMENT (1-year revocation): You qualify to reinstate early after serving one (1) month of the revocation period. The reinstatement requirements for regular or early reinstatement are exactly the same in this scenario, so you should take advantage of early reinstatement. To reinstate, the following is required:

1. Provide an SR22 Certificate from your insurance company and maintain it for three (3) years or the period in which you hold a restricted license; whichever is longer.

2. Enroll in Level II Alcohol Education and Therapy;

  • Include the Affidavit of Enrollment, DR 2643 or have your Level II provider fax a DRS Form directly to the DMV.

3. Complete an Application for Reinstatement, DR2870.

4. Have an Interlock installed in every vehicle you either own or may drive (call any provider for appointment - however, Smart Start is the best Ignition Interlock Provider and has better technology and better service than the other providers). You will be required to have Interlock for no less than two (2) years.

  • Include the notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit, DR2058;
  • Include a signed copy of each interlock lease agreement and of each installation certificate.

5. Mail the SR22 Certificate, the Affidavit of Enrollment, Notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit (with a signed copy of the lease agreement and installation certificate) the Application for Reinstatement along with your personal check or money order for $95.00 to the address provided on the Application for Reinstatement.

I have been criminally convicted three times or more of alcohol convictions

REVOCATION: This restraint is taken when a driver receives three or more alcohol violations in a lifetime. The revocation is ordered for a period of two years. The driver is eligible for early reinstatement after completing one (1) month of the revocation. They then are eligible for a restricted license with interlock for the time remaining on the total restraint or two (2) years, whichever is longer.

  • The revocation remains in effect until you complete the reinstatement process.
  • ALL reinstatements are processed by mail. You should begin the reinstatement process approximately 3-4 weeks before you expect to reinstate.
  • If you were 21 or older at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident, and have no other unsatisfied license restraints, you may reinstate early after serving only one (1) month of the revocation period, provided you install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in every vehicle you own or will drive and meet all other reinstatement requirements

REINSTATEMENT (2-year revocation): You qualify to reinstate early after serving one (1) month of the revocation period. The reinstatement requirements for regular or early reinstatement are exactly the same in this scenario, so you should take advantage of early reinstatement. To reinstate, the following is required:

1. Provide an SR22 Certificate from your insurance company and maintain it for three (3) years or the period in which you hold a restricted license; whichever is longer.

2. Enroll in Level II Alcohol Education and Therapy;

  • Include the Affidavit of Enrollment, DR 2643 or have your Level II provider fax a DRS Form directly to the DMV.

3. Complete an Application for Reinstatement, DR2870.

4. Have an Interlock installed in every vehicle you either own or may drive (call any provider for appointment - however, Smart Start is the best Ignition Interlock Provider and has better technology and better service than the other providers). You will be required to have Interlock for no less than two (2) years.

  • Include the notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit, DR2058;
  • Include a signed copy of each interlock lease agreement and of each installation certificate.

5. Mail the SR22 Certificate, the Affidavit of Enrollment, Notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit (with a signed copy of the lease agreement and installation certificate) the Application for Reinstatement along with your personal check or money order for $95.00 to the address provided on the Application for Reinstatement.

What Our Clients Say

  • “The attorneys at The Orr Law Firm had my best interest in mind and walked me through the entire process.”

    SATISFIED CLIENT; DUI CHARGE

  • “After waiting almost a year for my fate to vanish in front of me, I ended up with no jail time or loss of wages.”

    SATISFIED CLIENT; EAGLE COUNTY DUI W/ 4 PRIORS

  • “Mr. Orr's professionalism puts him in a higher class than his peers in the courtroom.”

    SATISFIED CLIENT; BROOMFIELD COUNTY DUR W/ PRIORS

  • “Hire yourself a top DUI defense law firm like The Orr Law Firm”

    SATISFIED CLIENT; JEFFERSON COUNTY DUI X 2

  • “My case was resolved as fair as the circumstances allowed. I am very happy with the outcome of my case.”

    SATISFIED CLIENT; ADAMS COUNTY CARELESS DRIVING CAUSING BODILY INJURY

  • “Thank you for making my criminal case disappear.”

    SATISFIED CLIENT; LARIMER COUNTY DUI - DISMISSED

  • “I am forever grateful for their assistance and would strongly recommend The Orr Law Firm”

    SATISFIED CLIENT; DUI CHARGE

  • “By trusting them I received the best possible outcome for my case and was only charged with a DWAI.”

    SATISFIED CLIENT; DUI CHARGE

  • “He has been extremely professional, helpful and diligent to win my cases.”

    SATISFIED CLIENT; MUNICIPAL COURT TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS

  • “This group of lawyers have literally… changed my life.”

    SATISFIED CLIENT; EL PASO COUNTY TRAFFIC CASE

  • “I'd hire The Orr Law Firm again in a second.”

    SATISFIED CLIENT; DENVER COUNTY DUI

  • “Rhidian was not only concerned with my legal issues, but with my overall life. ”

    SATISFIED CLIENT; DUI CHARGE

  • “Rhidian and his team saved my career and helped me tremendously during a dismal time.”

    SATISFIED CLIENT; DUI CHARGE

  • “The outcome was more than we could have ever wished for.”

    SATISFIED CLIENT; JEFFERSON COUNTY DUI - W/ PRIOR

  • “Results speak for themselves, hire the Orr Law Firm.”

    SATISFIED CLIENT; WELD COUNTY DUI

Contact Us For A Free Consultation

We are ready when you are. Fill out the following form or call us at (303) 818-2448 and our helpful team will return your inquiry shortly.
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.