Denver Underage DUI Lawyer
Let Our Legal Team Protect Your Child’s Future
Although the legal drinking age is 21 years old, it's not uncommon for teenagers and young adults to consume alcohol. Unfortunately, underage drinking may lead to drunk driving, which could result in a child’s parents receiving a frightening phone call in the middle of the night or early morning from the local police station.
If you or your child has been arrested for underage drinking and driving, the Orr Law Firm understands what it takes to obtain the most favorable results in juvenile and criminal court proceedings to help put our clients’ mistakes behind them for good. Our Denver underage DUI attorneys can assess your case, figure out all available legal options, and work to help you or your child get the charges reduced or the case dismissed altogether.
Can Minors Drink With Parents in Colorado?
Minors can drink with parents in private property in Colorado. Colorado's exception requires the knowledge and consent of the owner of the private property when minors possess or consume alcohol (in addition to the consent and presence of a parent or guardian.
Can Police Give Minors Breathalyzer?
The police can still give minors breathalyzers in Colorado without the consent of parents. Since minors are not allowed to drink alcohol, the legal limit is much different.
Underage DUI Laws in Colorado
According to Colorado’s “zero tolerance” law, underage drinking and driving (UDD) is defined as operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of between .02 and .05 percent. Since anyone under 21 years of age cannot legally consume, possess, or purchase alcohol, the legal limit of .08 percent doesn’t apply.
In Colorado, a first-time underage DUI offense is a class A traffic infraction, which is punishable by a maximum of $150 in fines, driver’s license suspension for up to three months, up to 24 hours of community service, four points on your driving record, and mandatory enrollment in an alcohol/drug education and treatment program.
While a first offense doesn’t carry a jail sentence, a second or subsequent UDD conviction results in a maximum 90-day jail sentence and up to $300 in fines.
Schedule a Free Case Evaluation Today
If you or your child is convicted of underage drinking and driving, not only will you face serious penalties, but having a DUI offense on your criminal record can make getting a job, applying to college, or taking advantage of other opportunities in life extremely difficult. Let our firm help you fight for the results and justice you deserve.
Contact us today at (303) 747-4247 to discuss your case with a Denver underage DUI defense attorney.