Skip to Content
Free Consultation

New Colorado Laws in 2020

New Laws

When the new year just around the corner, several laws that were enacted during the 2019 legislative session will go into effect.

The following are some of the new laws that will take effect on January 1, 2020:

  • Red flag law – When a person believes another individual is a risk to others or himself/herself, he/she could petition a judge to have firearms in their possession removed. Essentially, an Extreme Risk Protection Order (ERPO) will be placed on that person.
  • Marijuana hospitality and delivery licenses – Colorado regulators can issue “hospitality” licenses to cannabis retailers and other businesses to permit the use of marijuana on their property. Delivery businesses may apply and receive a state permit for delivering medical marijuana, while a state permit for delivering other cannabis products can be obtained starting in 2021.
  • Mental health care – Residents will be allowed to schedule a mental health checkup in the same manner as a physical checkup. In addition, the cost of a mental health checkup will be the same as a physical checkup.
  • Out of network health care costs – For patients to avoid “surprise medical bills” from out-of-network providers, in-network health care professionals must inform patients if there is an employee who is outside their network during a medical procedure.
  • Reduction of insulin prices – Residents with diabetes won’t have to pay more than $100 per month (per 30-day supply) for their insulin. The state is also required to investigate the pricing of insulin and file a report to the governor, legislature, and others.
  • Identity documents for transgender individuals – Rather than obtaining a court order to receive an amended birth certificate, transgender individuals can file identity documents to obtain a new birth certificate—as well as a new driver’s license or Colorado ID—to reflect their gender identity.
  • Increase of minimum wage – The state’s minimum age will increase from $11.20 to $12.00 in 2020.

For more information about the criminal laws in Colorado, contact Orr Law Firm today at (303) 747-4247 to schedule a free consultation.