Skip to Content
Free Consultation

Ask Attorneys in Denver: The Real Cost of a DUI

attorney pointing at document on desk

Before you make the decision to get behind the wheel of a vehicle after you've been drinking, it's important to consider the potential consequences of your actions. Not only do you put yourself and other motorists in danger, but you risk being pulled over and charged with driving under the influence. In addition to facing jail time for this offense, there's a good chance that you'll end up dishing out a large sum of money to pay for your crime.

Here's a look at some of the expenses you may incur following a DUI charge:

  • Car insurance - Your car insurance premiums will likely increase.
  • Fine - For a first-time DUI conviction, you'll face a fine ranging from $300 to $1,000. This amount only increases for second, third and subsequent convictions.
  • Ignition interlock device - If you're ordered to install one of these devices into your car, you'll be expected to cover the installation fee yourself. This can cost anywhere from $50 to $200. Then, for as long as the device is in your vehicle, you'll be required to pay a monthly rental fee of about $50 to $100.
  • Lawyer fees - It's in your best interest to hire an experienced Colorado DUI attorney in the event that you're arrested for DUI, so this is another expense you'll have to worry about.
  • Probation - In the state of Colorado, adults on supervised probation are expected to pay a $50 per month supervision fee.

Don't let a DUI charge drain your bank account. If you're too drunk to drive, arrange for an alternative method of transportation. As always, if you've been accused of any driving-related crime, contact The Orr Law Firm for expert legal representation.