Skip to Content
Free Consultation

The Cost of Getting a DUI in Colorado


Even if you are a first-time offender, you shouldn’t expect to get let off the hook when you’re convicted of driving under the influence (DUI).

Although a misdemeanor, this is a criminal offense for which a conviction can result in a variety of consequences. There’s the possibility of jail time to consider along with a license suspension, but the cost of a DUI is something that people often overlook until they are forced to deal with it.

There’s more to pay than just fines when you get a DUI, especially when it comes to the expenses you incur along the way. Let’s look at some of these expenses and what they can take out of your bank account.

Expenses You May Assume Even If You Aren’t Convicted

Even if your DUI charges are dropped, or a judge dismisses your case, you will likely incur a variety of expenses until that point. Here’s a look at some of the financial responsibilities you may have, even if you’re never convicted of DUI.

Towing & Impoundment Costs

If you are arrested for DUI, and there’s no one else at the scene who can take possession of your vehicle, the police will arrange to tow and impound your car.

Towing fees may cost up to $200, but additional charges may apply. In addition, impounding expenses can cost up to $100 per day your vehicle is kept in storage, although rates can be higher on weekends and holidays.

Bail & Bond Fees

If you intend to post bond, you can expect to pay the court between $1,000 and $5,000, but you’ll get this money back as long as you attend all of your hearings. This is the typical range for bond in a DUI case, but the judge may order more bail to ensure you’ll show up in court.

Should you not have enough cash on hand to afford bail, you can work with a bondsman. The bondsman will post your bail, and you’ll be responsible for a fee of up to 10%. This means your bondsman fees may range between $100 and $500, depending on the bondsman’s rate.

Attorney’s Fees

DUI attorneys typically charge somewhere between $2,500 and $5,000 for their legal services. This usually includes case preparation and trial services, but it’s important to keep in mind that each attorney may have their own way of charging for their services.

It’s important to ask an attorney about their fee schedule and how they charge for their services before agreeing to hire them. That said, you should never go for the least expensive attorney as a matter of course. If you value protecting your rights and freedom, only choose the attorney who you trust to handle your case.

The Added Costs of a DUI Conviction

In addition to the aforementioned costs, you can face several others if you are ultimately convicted of DUI in Colorado.

Some of these additional costs include the following:

  • $600-$1,000 in court fines
  • $250 sentencing fee
  • $2,500+ in driver responsibility fees
    $5,000-$15,000 for an alcohol treatment program
  • $150 ignition interlock device installation (plus monthly fees to cover monitoring)
  • Approximately $1,200 in monthly probation costs
  • Approximately 70% increase in insurance rate hikes
  • Must also purchase a separate liability insurance policy

As you can see, the cost of being convicted of a DUI can be significantly greater than the costs leading up to that point. Although being in this situation is never ideal, an experienced attorney may be able to help you avoid the worst possible outcomes for your unique legal situation.

Contact Orr Law Firm for Help

The cost of getting a DUI is often far more than many people first expect once all the incidental costs are considered. That’s why you should strongly consider hiring an attorney you can trust to help you secure the best possible outcome. Even a plea deal for a lesser offense can help you avoid severe fines and costs when compared to a DUI conviction.

Orr Law Firm can provide the legal representation you need to defend against DUI charges. Contact us today to learn more about our services.