Skip to Content
Free Consultation

FAQ: Rideshare Accidents During the Holidays


The holidays are here, and that means there might be many places for you to be during this season. Whether it’s to and from the airport, family gatherings, parties, and other important events, traveling safely is important to you. If you’re like many people, you’re probably thinking about using a rideshare app such as Uber or Lyft to get you from here to there.

Unfortunately, rideshare apps aren’t accident-proof, and there are plenty of things that can go wrong. For example, your rideshare can get hit by a DUI driver, or your driver might be under the influence. Your driver could hit a patch of ice and lose control, or they may violate a traffic law that results in a car accident.

No matter how it happens, you’ll have a lot of questions if you’re injured in a rideshare auto accident. Fortunately, we at Orr Law Firm have answers to many of the common questions we get from our clients.

What Should I Do After a Rideshare Accident?

Immediately after the accident, call 9-1-1 for help – especially if you or someone else is injured. Make sure you are seen by an EMT to make sure you don’t require emergency medical care. Keep in mind that this doesn’t mean you’re uninjured – it only means you don’t require an ambulance ride to the hospital.

Get every party’s driver’s license and insurance information. This includes your rideshare driver’s information as well as that of the other party’s. Document the scene with photos and videos, and do the same for any visible injuries you have. When you see a doctor, ask for a copy of your medical records. Never tell anyone you’re uninjured or aren’t in pain, because you can feel latent injuries hours or even days later.

My Rideshare Driver Was at Fault for the Accident. Can I Still Get Compensation?

Yes. Under Colorado law, rideshare companies are required to carry $1 million third-party liability coverage for a rideshare passenger’s injury and property damage.

Regardless of which driver was at fault for the accident, you were a passenger when it happened and share no amount of fault. As such, you can file a claim with the rideshare company and/or either party’s insurance company to seek compensation for your injuries.

Do Rideshare Drivers Carry Extra Insurance?

They can, but it’s not required. Rideshare drivers are only required to carry their own insurance, which is the same for all other drivers in Colorado.

In Colorado, all drivers must carry insurance with at least:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,00 per accident for bodily injury
  • $15,000 per accident for property damage

When rideshare drivers are online but aren’t driving to a passenger or ferrying one, their rideshare company offers them increased liability coverage.

This increased coverage breaks down as follows:

  • $50,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $100,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $25,000 per accident for property damage

As a rideshare passenger, however, this increased coverage may not apply to you because you can seek a claim under the rideshare company’s $1 million third-party liability. Even so, it’s best to discuss your options with an experienced personal injury attorney.

Contact Us for Legal Assistance

If you plan on using a rideshare app during the holidays, it’s important to know what to do if you are involved in an accident. While these apps can decrease the number of DUI drivers on the road, they aren’t accident-proof. Should you become injured in a rideshare accident, our attorneys at Orr Law Firm are here to help.

Contact us online to learn more about our personal injury practice.