Skip to Content
Free Consultation

Vehicular Homicide Laws in Colorado

Vehicular Homicide Laws in Colorado

Colorado motorists can face vehicular homicide charges if they kill another person while operating a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol. These charges also apply if a person causes the death of another individual due to their reckless driving.

A driver is considered under the influence if they are “substantially incapable, either mentally or physically, or both mentally and physically, of exercising clear judgment, sufficient physical control, or due care in the safe operation of a vehicle.” Prosecutors will look to the blood alcohol concentration and the amount of drugs in the driver’s system when deciding if they were under the influence at the time of a fatal accident.

A driver is considered reckless if they consciously disregard a “substantial and unjustifiable risk.” This means the driver knew they were being dangerous, but continued to do so anyway.

Penalties for Vehicular Homicide

  • DUI-Related Offense: This is a class 3 felony that usually includes 4 to 12 years in prison and $3,000 to $750,000 in fines.
  • Reckless Offense: This is a class 4 felony that is punishable by 2-6 years in prison and $2,000 to $500,000 in fines.

Get Help With Your Vehicular Homicide Case Today

At the Orr Law Firm, we are committed to helping clients facing a variety of traffic-related offenses. Our skilled lawyers are here to provide you with the legal guidance you need, and we will walk you through every aspect of your case to make sure your rights are fully protected. We understand how scary it can be when you are accused of a crime, which is why were are to help you secure the justice you deserve.

Call (303) 747-4247 to speak to a Colorado vehicular homicide lawyer about your case. Schedule your free case consultation today.