Skip to Content
Free Consultation

Mom Has Creative Punishment for Teen Son's Drunk Driving - Sell His Car

person driving car

Are you in the market for a new car? According to this classified ad, the “meanest mother in Wyoming” is selling her 16-year-old son’s truck because she caught him driving drunk. While this punishment is unusual, it certainly gets the point across. Underage drinking and driving (UDD) is a serious offense and it can have deadly consequences.

Underage drinking and driving is a serious problem in Colorado. In 2010, there were 18 driving fatalities due to alcohol-impaired minors on Colorado roads, and 383 minors under the age of 18 were arrested for UDD. In a recent study, 33 percent of 12- to 20 year-old Coloradoans reported consuming alcohol in the past 30 days, and over 20 percent reported binge drinking during the same period. This is a dangerous trend with serious consequences.

Under Colorado law, a driver under the age of 21 cannot drive a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.020 percent or higher. Accordingly, if the driver has a BAC level of between 0.02 percent to 0.05 percent, they will be charged with UDD. Drivers under the age of 21 with BACs greater than 0.05 percent will be charged as adults under Colorado’s DUI laws.

UDD is a Class A traffic infraction and cannot be expunged from a criminal record. If your child is charged with UDD, it is important to hire an experienced Denver DUI attorney. At The Orr Law Firm, L.L.C., we have Colorado’s best UDD attorneys who will defend your child’s rights.