Skip to Content
Free Consultation

Driver’s License Point System in Colorado

Point System

What is Colorado’s Driver’s License Point System?

Every time you receive a traffic citation or commit a vehicle-related offense, each conviction is reported to the Colorado DMV. 

"Each type of conviction causes a certain number of points to be placed on your driving record," explains the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles. "If you get too many points within a certain period of time, you will lose your driver's license through a point suspension. Each time you get a ticket, the Division of Motor Vehicles places the points on your record and determines if there are enough points to cause a suspension of your driving privileges."

How Many Points Will Result in a Suspension?

If an adult driver who is at least 21 years of age accumulates 12 points within a 12-month period or 18 points within a 24-month period, his or her driver’s license will be suspended. The same applies if a minor driver who is between 18 and 20 years old accumulates nine points within a 12-month period, 12 points within a 24-month period, or at least 14 points between the ages of 18 and 21. The same type of suspension also applies if a driver under 18 years of age accumulates six points within a 12-month period or seven points before turning 18.

In the event that you reach these limits on your driving record, you will be asked to appear at a hearing where a hearing officer will determine whether a suspension is required and for how long. It is in your best interest to have an attorney from a Colorado law firm such as The Orr Law Firm represent you in the criminal courts prior to any conviction being entered. Once you plead or are found guilty, there is very little an attorney can do to help you at a DMV point suspension hearing.

Types of Traffic Violations

The following are common traffic violations in Colorado and the points associated with each:

  • Driving under the influence (DUI) - 12 points

  • Leaving the scene of an accident - 12 points

  • Careless driving causing death - 12 points

  • Engaging in a speed contest - 12 points

  • Speeding at least 40 mph over the posted speed limit - 12 points

  • Evading or attempting to evade a patrol vehicle - 12 points

  • Driving while ability impaired (DWAI) - 8 points

  • Reckless driving - 8 points

  • Speeding over at least 20 miles over the posted speed limit - 6 points

  • Failure to stop for school signs and signals - 6 points

  • Failure to stop for a school bus - 6 points

  • Failure to yield right-of-way to an individual with a disability - 6 points

  • Engaging in a speed exhibition - 5 points

  • Underage drinking and driving - 4 points

  • Careless driving - 4 points

  • Speeding at least 10 miles over the posted speed limit - 4 points

  • Driving on the wrong side of the road - 4 points

  • Failure to follow a traffic signal or sign - 4 points

  • Tailgating - 4 points

  • Failure to yield right-of-way to pedestrian - 4 points

  • Failure to show or maintain proof of insurance - 4 points

  • Improper passing - 4 points

  • Failure to yield right-of-way - 3 points

  • Driving in the wrong lane - 3 points

  • Improper turn - 3 points

  • Failure to reduce speed when hazards are present - 3 points

  • Failure to turn on or dim lights - 2 points

  • Failure to properly signal - 2 points

If you face driver’s license suspension after committing a traffic offense in Denver, contact Orr Law Firm today at (303) 747-4247 and schedule a free consultation.