There are countless reasons why you shouldn't get behind the wheel of a vehicle after you've been drinking. In addition to endangering the lives of yourself and others, you put yourself at risk of facing serious penalties if you're convicted of DUI in the state of Colorado.
Previously on this blog, we've covered the consequences of a first and second DUI offense. Today, we'll take a look at what could happen should you be arrested for this crime again.
In the event that you're convicted of DUI three or more times in Colorado,
you could face the following penalties:
• 48 to 120 hours of community service
• A fine ranging from $600 to $1,500
• A jail term ranging from 60 days to one year with a mandatory 60-day sentence
• A license revocation of two years
• A requirement to complete an alcohol education program
• The possible installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle
• Up to four years of probation.
There are simple ways to avoid getting a DUI. For example, ask one of your friends to be your designated driver, take public transportation or call a taxi if you find that you've consumed too much alcohol. It's better to be safe than sorry in these situations, because drunk driving could cost you your freedom and possibly even your life.
That being said, if you've been charged with DUI, there are experienced attorneys in Denver who can help you mount an effective legal defense and move forward with your life. Call The Orr Law Firm today to learn more.