As we've documented previously on this blog, the penalties for a first-time DUI conviction in the state of Colorado are notably harsh, with the goal of deterring motorists from becoming repeat offenders. While the hope is that people learn their lesson the first time and make smarter decisions before getting behind the wheel of a vehicle, the reality is that some individuals get caught drunk driving more than once.
With this in mind, here's a look at some of the penalties you may face
if you're convicted of DUI for the second time in Colorado:
• 48 to 120 hours of community service
• A fine ranging from $600 to $1,500
• A jail term ranging from 10 days to one year
• A license revocation of one year
• A requirement to complete an alcohol education program
• The possible installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle
• Up to four years of probation.
In addition to these penalties, there are a number of hidden consequences associated with a DUI conviction that people don't even think about until it's too late. For example, you could lose your job, decrease your chances of furthering your career and even incur higher costs on your life insurance policy.
If you've been charged with DUI, it's imperative that you secure expert legal representation as early on in the legal process as possible. With the help of an experienced Denver DUI attorney from The Orr Law Firm, you'll have the resources you need to mount an effective defense and move forward with your life.