In a recent piece, we reviewed the administrative penalties for common DUI and drunk driving violations, which are overseen by the Colorado Department of Revenue and cannot, under most circumstances, be reduced or bargained away. With this article, we'll review the criminal penalties for DUI and DWAI offenses.
The main difference between administrative and criminal penalties is that the latter charges can potentially be reduced through a plea bargain, provided you have the help of an expert Colorado DUI attorney.
The following entries include the jail, fine and public service requirements for common convictions, according to the state's Office of Legislative Legal Services:
1st DWAI or DUI - Those charged with their first DWAI could face between two and 180 days in jail, fines of between $200 and $500 and up to 48 hours of public service requirements. The charges are more severe for a DUI conviction, with possible jail time rising to one year, fines increasing to as much as $1,000 and public service requirements reaching a maximum of 96 hours.
DWAI or DUI with one previous conviction - If this occurs, Colorado residents could face as little as 10 days or as much as one year behind bars. This also could include $600 to $1,500 in fines and up to 120 hours of community service.
DWAI or DUI with two or more previous convictions - In this event, jail requirements start at a minimum of 60 days to a maximum 1 year, but maximum and minimum fines and public service penalties remain unchanged from the previous entry.
Still, those who are arrested and charged with these crimes can gain the tools to mount a successful defense that reduces the criminal penalties they face. By enlisting the help of a DUI law firm with years of experience, you can gain the help of professionals who can lobby on your behalf.