Imposed by the Colorado Department of Revenue, not the state courts, administrative DUI and DWAI penalties can still be difficult for residents to face. For example, in an administrative ruling, your license could be suspended or revoked, which may make fulfilling your day-to-day responsibilities more difficult.
The major difference between criminal and administrative penalties, according to the state, is that while criminal penalties may be reduced by a Colorado DUI lawyer through a plea bargain, the Department of Revenue does not have the authority to adjust these penalties for a specific case.
If you're in any of the following situations, it may benefit you to know the administrative penalties that you may face:
You are charged with a DWAI and convicted - For a first offense, 8 points will be added to your license and your privileges will not be suspended or revoked unless you exceed the point limit in Colorado. On the second offense/conviction, the total penalties amount to 8 points and a 12 month revocation of your license, and on the third offense/conviction, the period of revocation rises to 24 months in total.
You are underage and charged with drinking and driving - If convicted for the first time, your license will be suspended for three months, the second time six months and one year for third offenses and up. In addition, four points will be assessed against your license.
Your BAC test is at least 0.08 - Your license can be suspended for nine months on the initial offense, one year on the second offense and for up to two years on the third or subsequent offense.
Regardless of the situation you face as detailed above, a reliable Denver law firm that specializes in DUI and DWAI cases can provide you with the assistance you need to have charges dismissed or reduced. To find out how we can help your case, call our offices at 1-303-818-2448 today.