State Law Is Tough on Drunk Driving
Colorado is one of the strictest states in the nation when it comes to
how the law treats major traffic offenses like DUI and DWAI. Penalties,
which worsen with repeated convictions, include the following:
First offense: A first offense may include up to one year in jail, along with up to
$1,000 in fines and a suspension or revocation of your driver's license
for up to one year or more.
Second offense: If you're convicted of a second DUI or DWAI offense in a lifetime,
you face up to one year in jail, a minimum 10 day jail sentence and $1,500
in fines plus mandatory probation of no less than two years. Your license
will likely be suspended/revoked for a minimum of one year and you will
have to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle.
Third offense: Third and subsequent offenses come with even greater penalties, including
up to a year incarceration, minimum mandatory jail of 60 days, $1,500
in fines and a minimum two-year license suspension or revocation. Not
to mention mandatory probation of no less than two years. You will also
need to install an IID in your automobile.
Preventing DUI in Colorado
A common question we receive from clients is how does one prevent DUI charges?
Although there are ways to question the tactics and procedures law enforcement
officers use, the simplest answer to the question is this: don’t
drink and drive. Colorado is tough on alleged drunk drivers and is a zero-tolerance
state. Even a couple of drinks can put you over the legal limit of .05
percent blood alcohol content (BAC), and officers are adamant about keeping
impaired drivers off the road.
Of course, we understand that people make mistakes and we believe that
everyone deserves a defense. At The Orr Law Firm, we are dedicated to
helping clients not only with the legal aspects of DUI charges, but also
the personal and emotional side. Attorney Rhidian Orr has been publicly
recognized for his commitment to assisting individuals who struggle with
substance abuse. When you work with our team, you have access to compassionate
professionals who know the challenges behind these issues.
Speak with a Knowledgeable Denver Defense Attorney Today
To schedule a free initial consultation, call (720) 619-2676 or
contact us online. We work with clients located throughout the state, including in the Denver
Metro Area, Colorado’s Front Range, and its surrounding communities.