COLORADO LAWYERS
Free Consultation (303) 818-2448
Who is Liable in an Uber/Lyft Accident in Colorado?

Who is Liable in an Uber/Lyft Accident in Colorado?

Rideshare services such as Uber and Lyft have become popular modes of transportation for residents and visitors in Colorado in recent years. All you need to do is request a ride through the app and a driver will pick you up in a few minutes to take you to your destination. 

However, there have been many accidents involving Uber and Lyft drivers throughout the country. So, whether you are a passenger or driving your own vehicle, what happens if you are injured in an accident with a rideshare driver? 

When an Uber or Lyft driver causes the accident and your injury, the liability coverage available is based on the driver's status when the accident collision occurred. There are three main types of situations: when the driver is not logged in to the app, when the driver is logged in to the app but has not received a ride request, and when the driver has a passenger or is on the way to pick someone up. 

The following is a breakdown of the available liability coverage for Uber and Lyft accidents: 

  • The driver is not logged in – When a driver is not actively working, then they are technically driving on personal time. If this is the case, then you would have to fa claim through the driver’s personal auto insurance policy. In Colorado, the minimum limits are $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $15,000 per accident for property damage. 

  • The driver is logged in but waiting for a ride request – In this situation, Uber provides $50,000 per person for bodily injury, $100,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 per accident for property damage. Lyft offers the same amounts but provides “contingent” liability coverage, which means if the driver does not have auto insurance or the driver’s personal policy does not cover all the injuries and damages, then the Lyft coverage will make the difference. 

  • The driver has a passenger in the vehicle or en route to pick someone up – Full liability coverage limits apply in this situation, whether you were a passenger, a driver who was struck by a rideshare motorist carrying a passenger, or a pedestrian. Uber offers “at least” $1 million per accident, while Lyft provides a maximum of $1 million per accident. 

Unfortunately, it is not uncommon for both the at-fault driver and both rideshare companies to do their best to deny liability, which is why having a knowledgeable personal injury attorney on your side can ensure you will recover the compensation you deserve. At Orr Law Firm, we are ready to help you make the best possible recovery from injury. 

To schedule a free consultation to learn about our experienced legal services, contact us today at (303) 818-2448

Categories:

Contact Us Today!

Initial Consultations are Free and Confidential
    • Please enter your first name.
    • Please enter your last name.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.