COLORADO LAWYERS
Free Consultation (303) 818-2448
Colorado’s New Traction Law

Colorado’s New Traction Law

Colorado’s new traction law went into effect on September 1, 2019, requiring all drivers traveling on Interstate 70 between Dotsero and Morrison—as well as all highways throughout the state—to equip their two-wheel-drive vehicles with the proper tires or traction devices.

When it comes to four-wheel-drive vehicles, the tires must have minimum tread depths of 3/16 of an inch. According to the previous law, the minimum tire tread depth was 1/8 of an inch and only applied to commercial vehicles.

Under the new law, state drivers must have the following:

  • All-season tires with mud/snow (M+S) designation
  • Snow tires
  • Standard tires with traction chains or AutoSocks

The new law is effective starting on September 1 and ending on May 31 annually.

Drivers who don’t have the proper tires or equipment will be fined more than $130. However, if drivers block the roadway due to having inadequate tires or equipment, the fine increases to over $650.

Starting this winter, the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) offers a new “SnowStang” bus service from Denver to Arapahoe Basin and Loveland ski areas—with other resorts committed to join the route. The SnowStang program will launch December 14 and will run through mid-April, costing $25 for round-trip rides from Union Station.

For more information about the traffic laws in Denver and throughout Colorado, contact Orr Law Firm today at (303) 818-2448.

Categories:

Contact Us Today!

Initial Consultations are Free and Confidential
    • Please enter your first name.
    • Please enter your last name.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.