If you have been arrested for DUI in Colorado, and it is your first or second DUI offense, it will be treated as a misdemeanor. The state of Colorado does not have a look back period, which means if you had your first DUI several years ago it will still be counted in your record.
Judges have substantial leeway when it comes to sentencing a person for their first misdemeanor DUI conviction. If the driver is over the age of 21 and has Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08 or higher, they will face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence of 5-365 days
- Fines ranging from $600-$1,000
- 48-96 hours of public service
The judge can also choose to issue probation for up to two years and require enrollment in a drug and alcohol treatment program. You might also be ordered to attend and pay for an appearance at a victim impact panel. If you get a second misdemeanor DUI, you will face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence of 90-365 days
- Fines ranging from $1000-$1,500
- 60-120 hours of public service
If your DUI offense resulted in injury or death, you could face a felony charge. You can also be charged with a felony if your DUI accident resulted in property damage. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you might face one-12 years in prison for a felony DUI offense.
Are you facing your second or third DUI in the state of Colorado? Do you need help protecting your driver’s license and your freedom? Call (303) 747-4247 today to schedule your free consultation with a Denver DUI lawyer to find out what we can do for you.