Denver NBC affiliate 9 News and Rocky Mountain PBS report that 25 percent of drunk drivers in Colorado don't possess valid licenses. The journalists analyzed 45,637 arrests for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) over the last two years, and found that only three in four of the suspects were licensed to drive. That means that out of the roughly 59,0000 total people in Colorado charged with DUI in 2012 and 2013, more than 14,000 of them likely didn't have licenses.
According to reporters, in about 3,000 cases the drivers had had their licenses revoked because of previous convictions on DUI or Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) charges. Operating a motor vehicle after the state has revoked your license is a class one misdemeanor. Punishment includes a minimum sentence of 30 days in the county jail or a fine of $3,000, or both. The court may suspend any part of that sentence, at its discretion, if the accused completes between 40 and 300 hours of public service.
If you're suspected of DUI, reckless driving or eluding police, in addition to driving with a revoked license, you may be charged with aggravated driving. Aggravated driving with a revoked license is a class 6 felony, which carries a fine ranging from $1,000 to $100,000 and a prison sentence ranging from 12 to 18 months.
We urge you to always drink responsibly and never drive without a valid license or while intoxicated. However, if you do find yourself charged with DUI, DWAI or operating a motor vehicle without a license, you should immediately contact the experienced Colorado DUI lawyers at The Orr Law Firm. We can aggressively represent your legal interests in court.