If you notice that a police officer is pursuing you while you're driving your car, it's your responsibility to pull over as soon as possible. Failure to do so could result in you being charged with vehicular eluding.
According to Colorado law, vehicular eluding can be defined as follows:
"Any person who, while operating a motor vehicle, knowingly eludes or attempts to elude a peace officer also operating a motor vehicle, and who knows or reasonably should know that he or she is being pursued by said peace officer, and who operates his or her vehicle in a reckless manner."
Vehicular eluding is typically considered a class 5 felony, which is punishable
by the following:
• A minimum fine of $2,000
• One to three years in prison
• Two years of mandatory parole.
If another individual incurs bodily injury as a result of your vehicular
eluding, it is considered a class 4 felony, which is punishable by the
• A minimum fine of $4,000
• Two to six years in prison
• Three years of mandatory parole.
If your vehicular eluding leads to the death of another person, it is considered
a class 3 felony, which is punishable by the following:
• A minimum fine of $6,000
• Four to 12 years in prison
• Five years of mandatory parole.
There are some instances in which vehicular eluding is considered a misdemeanor rather than a felony. For example, if you haven't posed a danger to anyone or anything or driven more than 30 miles per hour over the speed limit, you may be charged with a misdemeanor. This typically leads to a license suspension and potentially even local jail time.
Individuals who are accused of vehicular eluding in the state of Colorado should consult The Orr Law Firm immediately for expert legal representation.