Law enforcement officials are serious about reducing drunk driving in the state of Colorado, which means that even individuals who are charged with driving under the influence (DUI) for the first time can face harsh consequences if convicted. Upon viewing the state's harrowing drunk driving statistics, it's no wonder that police officers won't hesitate to stop motorists who they suspect may be intoxicated.
"Each year in Colorado, more than 26,000 people are arrested for DUI and over 150 people are killed in alcohol-related traffic crashes – representing more than one-third of Colorado's total motor vehicle fatalities," states the Colorado Department of Transportation.
So, what can you expect to happen if you're arrested for your first
DUI offense? Here are some of the penalties you may face:
• 48 to 96 hours of community service
• Three to nine months of alcohol education
• A fine ranging from $300 to $1,000
• A jail term ranging from five days to one year
• A maximum license suspension of one year
• The possible installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
You risk being charged with DUI if your blood alcohol content is .08 percent or higher, so it's important to monitor your alcohol intake and refrain from getting behind the wheel of a vehicle if you're intoxicated.
Here at The Orr Law Firm, we want to make sure that motorists know how to protect their rights if they're ever suspected of DUI, which is why we've provided this helpful infographic on our website. As always, our team of experienced DUI defense attorneys is here to take on your case in the event that you're charged with this offense.