What is reckless driving under Colorado law?
In yesterday's piece, we provided an overview of Colorado DUI law as it relates to habitual offenders - individuals who are convicted of three or more serious traffic offenses within a seven-year period. Among the potential charges that could contribute to this total were vehicular homicide, DUIs and DWAIs and reckless driving.
Today, we'll look at reckless driving as it's defined by state law so you can better understand the behaviors that could put you at risk for such a conviction.
Under Colorado Statute Title 42, Article 4, Part 14, a reckless driver is defined as "a person who drives a motor vehicle, bicycle, electrical assisted bicycle or low-power scooter in such a manner as to indicate either a wanton or a willful disregard for the safety of persons or property."
As a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense, second or subsequent convictions will be met with fines of $50 to $1,000 or imprisonment for 10 days to six months. A conviction also leads 8 points to be assessed against your driver's license.
Further, since it is counted as a habitual traffic offender strike, these seemingly minor infractions could have a larger influence on your sentencing. For instance, those who are given this classification by the courts could lose their license for as long as five years.
This charge is generally applied if you are driving more than 25 miles over the speed limit in a posted area, according to some experts, but ultimately, the citation will fall to the responding officer to determine.
If you've been charged with reckless driving and are worried a conviction would put you one step closer to being hit with habitual offender penalties, contacting attorneys in Denver is a great first step. These professionals can provide you with the consultation and legal representation you need to fight a conviction.